Prison Break Season 5 episode 5 discussion: Contingency

Hello everyone and welcome to another edition of Prison Break catchup with season 5 episode 5, Contingency. As always with this show, another episode – another death I wasn’t ready for. Just as I had finally learnt Sid’s name, he goes and gets himself killed. Out of the three new escapee characters I wanted him to live the most: I don’t want to see them break the news to his dad. I know the newbies aren’t on the same level as the original prison crew Michael compiled in season 1, but you’ve still made some sort of connection to them and want them to escape. Especially Sid who was imprisoned just for being gay. I guess you just have to keep in mind how much shorter this season is from the first, leading to character introductions having to be much more rushed. The Queen loving guy was a total bad ass, singing We are the Champions while setting up a fire trap to burn terrorists alive. And does the guy who killed Sid have a name? I’m just calling him one eye and I’d rather not have to keep doing that, even though I hate him.

After the apparent revelation that Sarah’s husband was somehow dodgy and connected to those who shot him, the guy did a whole lot of back tracking this episode. So much so that at times I was wondering if he was telling the truth and T-Bag made a mistake. That tech guy at the university was doing what the husband said he was doing, but on the other hand he could have been forced to say that. There could be a whole load of bluffs and/or double bluffs going on. It all just seemed too convenient though: the fact that those two agents were stood in the line up with no others who really looked anything like them to ensure that Sarah picked right maybe? Sarah wasn’t very subtle about it either. I was expecting at least this episode to be stealthy investigating and trying to not let on to her husband that she was suspicious. But no, she just came straight out and confronted him, which may have not been the best choice in the long run.

Ben was reluctant to make the hard call to let the getaway plane off without Michael and Lincoln. The brothers really don’t have much look with getaway planes in this show. Of course I wanted them to make it but I could see the pilot’s argument: it’s either those already on the plane (including kids) escape, or nobody does and they all more than likely get shot. You have to make the tough choice. I am really glad that Lincoln called him and told him go: a selfless act with him not wanting them to sacrifice themselves because of him. Lincoln has really grown into one of my favourite characters. I actually like him more than Michael and I like Michael a lot. I don’t know what they are going to do next but you can guarantee it won’t be as straightforward as any of them hope.

DD Rating: 8/10

Leave a comment